The mystery of our love

Yaseerkugu
Put thoughts to writings in form of poetry
2 min readApr 8, 2019

It was Saturday’s night when it all happened.

We talked on the phone for like forty minutes, it was the longest forty minutes of my life.

We spoke about the love we have for each other but, only to be shattered at the very end.

We dated each other for three months but, the love we shared was not from our time, it was born at the beginning of time.

It pierce my heart to see that, we are no longer together but, for whatever reason I let her go, it’s worth it.

Her jealousy deluded her to believing I cheated on her but, in actual sense, she misunderstood me.

Now, the love we once shared has turned into hatred. I am proud to be the man she loved most but now, I am the man she hated most.

On the blink of an eye, our love turned into hatred, which I have never seen in my life.

She no longer trust the man she loved most and for this reason, our love was lost.

To her, I am just a liar. To her, I cheated in our relationship. To her, I am not worthy of trust not knowing, it was all her misunderstanding.

For this very reason, she blamed her heartbreak on me not knowing my heart was also broken.

For this very reason, I will not let myself to be misunderstood again.

For this very reason, I lost the love of my life. And for this very reason, I am afraid I can no longer love again.

All my life, my greatest fear was to be blamed for breaking a heart but, at the very end, what I feared the most became the reality I have to live with.

This is the mystery of our love and sadly, that was how it ends.

--

--

Yaseerkugu
Put thoughts to writings in form of poetry

BSc. International Studies, Masters In Public Administration, Personal Assistant to the Executive Secretary Of Kaduna State Residents Identity Management Agency