In conversation: Tips from a new PwC team member on how to apply

PwC Canada
PwC Canada

--

We’ve recently harnessed the power of technology to update our campus application approach, providing applicants with more flexibility throughout the process. We sat down with new associate Greg Lynch so he could share his experience with PwC so far and tell us about how he successfully prepared to apply.

Hi Greg! Can you please share a little bit about who you are and your experience so far here at PwC?

Absolutely! I was born and still live in Calgary. I’m going into my fourth year at Queen’s University in the Commerce program, graduating in April 2019. In terms of my interests, I love sports, hiking, travelling and spending time at our family cottage in Quebec.

This summer, I’m working in the assurance practice as a PwC Advance summer intern, and this has allowed me to gain client experience alongside a great group of fellow summer associates. All the employees have been incredibly welcoming and willing to provide guidance throughout the summer months.

At PwC, we use technology to provide flexibility to our people. In what ways did you find more flexibility while applying to PwC?

The application process was really accommodating to my needs and schedule. This flexibility was especially relevant in my case, as I was studying in Ontario while applying for a position in the Calgary office. Thanks to the technology used, the assessments, on-demand video interview and partner interview via Skype were all done online from the comfort of my student housing.

Another benefit to this flexibility is the freedom to choose when you want to complete the various steps of the process. I was able to work around classes and extracurriculars to find times that worked best for me.

One of the new additions to our recruitment approach is our online assessments. What was your experience like taking them and how did you prepare for them?

Though they may sound tough, I really enjoyed the online assessments. Some of the questions were challenging, but I knew that all applicants go through the same process and it’s not something to get stressed about. Taking practice assessments gave me a good idea of the layout and difficulty of the assessments. Personally, I found the most challenging questions involved choosing which picture came next in a sequence to complete a particular pattern. As such, I found practice assessments on the PwC Campus Careers website and ran through them a few times.

Once you’re comfortable with the practice tests, I’d recommend finding a quiet area — preferably not in a noisy house like mine — and treating the assessment just like any other test you’ve written!

A unique part of our approach is that the first round of interviews is completely digital. What was it like doing your virtual interview?

The virtual interview was an interesting part of the hiring process. Fortunately, one of my class assignments in university was to conduct a virtual interview, so I had a little experience with this type of technology. The first few times I did it in class, I found it somewhat embarrassing to watch a recording of myself answering questions. But as time went on, my confidence increased and I was more at ease on camera.

If it’s your first time, I would recommend filming yourself answering a few generic interview questions to get some practice before the actual interview.

As a firm, we pride ourselves on being quick to adopt new and innovative technologies. Besides our recruitment approach, what other cool technologies have you been exposed to since joining the firm?

One aspect that I find very helpful is that PwC uses Google for many different purposes: email, Google Drive, Google Calendar, etc. The fact that Google is so integrated into our operations allows all data between the platforms to be cohesive and helps us avoid logistical conflicts.

Another cool technology that I’ve used while doing client work is Connect. Connect is a platform that allows us to make online requests to our clients and notifies us when the client provides us with the particular document. It’s an effective and environmentally sustainable way to request documents from the client, and the interface is very user-friendly.

Any final tips for students on how to succeed when they apply to PwC? Is there anything you wish you’d have known before you applied?

Honestly, as cliché as it may sound, the best piece of advice I could give is to avoid stressing throughout the process and focus on highlighting your unique strengths and attributes.

Before applying to PwC, I went to a recruiting event where representatives answered our questions and provided more information about the firm. I was quite nervous before the event, but as I started talking to the reps, I realized they just wanted to get to know me — it was more of a two-way conversation as opposed to students firing off questions. Everyone I met from PwC was helpful, laid-back and down-to-earth, making the decision to come work here quite easy. Reaching out to current employees and asking them to meet for a coffee chat is a great way to learn more about the firm and show your interest in working here.

Obviously, you want to make sure you prepare adequately before applying (learning about PwC and what they do, meeting people within the firm, interview prepping with someone that has already gone through the process), but remember that the recruiters are very welcoming and genuinely want you to succeed! Best of luck to you all!

We’ve got more info on our approach on our website, including tips on how to prepare for each individual step and links to practice assessments. Learn more about how to get ready to apply!

--

--