Opportunities to grow with exceptionally welcoming people: My journey as a PwC Canada Advisory intern / co-op student

PwC Canada
PwC Canada
Published in
3 min readJul 17, 2020

Shaping my future

My name is Masheil (Mush-aisle) Mir and I’m going into my third year of Statistical Machine Learning and Data Science at the University of Toronto Scarborough. I enjoy writing poetry and have even competed in an interscholastic tournament where I placed first at both a regional and national level. I used to do competitive rock climbing in high school and still try to do it as a hobby now. As I shape my future, I want to be able to make an impact both within and outside of the tech industry. I’m constantly looking for new opportunities to grow and explore my interests.

I’ve been working with the Digital Resilience Centre (DRC) team and everyone has been so welcoming and nice which makes me even more eager to want to go into the office when it reopens. They made it easy to virtually onboard and learn everything needed for the role. I’ve been introduced to various associates with different backgrounds who have opened up opportunities for me to learn in different areas including machine learning.

What I’ve learned so far

I’m currently in Advisory as a cybersecurity, privacy and financial crime associate. The main aspect I was looking forward to was the opportunity to be involved in the cybersecurity, privacy and financial crime sector and to learn more about it. What has surprised me is how large the numbers and data can get depending on what’s being monitored and when. I’m looking forward to continuing to develop my skill set.

PwC Canada offers so many different courses and guides, making it easy to upskill in any area you want to. I recently took a Data Analytics upskilling course which taught me how to use several different types of data visualization tools. A lot of the courses are intro level too and don’t require previous knowledge in the subject matter!

Everyone is willing to help

At PwC Canada our wellbeing is a priority.There’s many group sessions throughout the week, especially since everyone is now working from home. These sessions include yoga and meditation for about an hour a week. Everyone is willing to help wherever they can and is extremely understanding of the fact that there can be a lot going on all at once. The environment is exceptionally welcoming, respectful, and enjoyable.

An epic journey

My favourite memory so far has been the onboarding experience when I was introduced to everyone and how welcoming they were. They instantly made me feel integrated and a part of the team and I couldn’t have asked for a better team to work with!

In terms of what’s next, I’ll be going back to school to continue my studies at the end of my term.I want to ensure that I’m broadening my knowledge both academically (through schooling) and with hands-on experience (like my internship at PwC Canada)!

--

--