Meet Justina Petraityte: Build your very own conversational AI assistant!

Vilma Medrano
PyBay
Published in
2 min readAug 9, 2019

Pythonistas! PyBay2019 is our 4th conference and our speakers are eager to get you updated on Python technologies.

Want build a project that utilizes machine learning? Here is Justina Petraityte, come and see Justina’s talk then build your own assistant!

Justina Petraityte (Courtesy Photo)

What are you going to be speaking about at PyBay2019, and why are you excited to give this talk?

I will be speaking about building conversational AI assistants using only machine learning and open source tools. After this talk developers should be well equipped with knowledge and tools to build their own conversational AI assistants that runs locally and constantly learns from real conversational data.

How did you get into programming and Python?

As a former R programmer, I started learning Python as soon as I tipped my toes into the world of machine learning. It was 5 years ago and back then I saw Python as a really flexible programming language and an industry standard when it comes to machine learning and data science applications. I am still learning lots of great new tricks and libraries to this day and that’s the best thing about it — there is always something new to learn.

What’s one of the features about Python you like the best?

The flexibility. You can use Python for so many different things — from machine learning to web applications and GUIs, research and scientific simulations or even games. The opportunities with Python are endless.

What’s your favorite Python library (core or third-party), and why?

It must be numpy as it’s the staple of every machine learning application. I love how much quicker and simpler it makes to perform difficult mathematical calculations.

What’s the coolest or most memorable thing that’s ever happened to you interacting with other Python devs?

I have to say that every interaction with Python devs is cool because there is always something to learn from their experience.

What can you be found doing when you’re not writing code?

I am very much into calisthenics training at the moment so you would probably find me at the gym or a park learning new skills.

What’s the best advice you’ve received as a Python developer?

To be very careful with when and where I am using the for loops. I have to admit that to this day it saves me a lot of time and helps me avoid writing overcomplicated code.

Subscribe to catch more interviews with the PyBay2019 speakers! If you haven’t already, make sure to get your pass and sign up for some workshops, too.

--

--