Meet the PyBay2018 Speakers:
Luca Bezerra

Ben Hancock
PyBay
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2018

This post is part of a series introducing the speakers at the PyBay2018 conference in San Francisco this August. It’s a great chance to learn and connect with an engaged and diverse community of Python developers. We hope you’ll join us!

Luca Bezerra (Courtesy Photo)

What are you going to be speaking about at PyBay 2018, and why are you excited to give this talk?

I’m going to be talking about tips and good practices on Pull Requests and Code Management in general. I’m super excited to give this talk because, first of all, it’s going to be my first international talk, so it’s a pretty big deal for me! Secondly, it’s a talk where I put a lot of effort on researching data for it and people from local/regional events have been receiving it well, so I’m curious to see if PyBay attendants will also enjoy it!

How did you get into programming and Python?

I got into programming back in 2007, when I joined a Computer Science college. Been doing it ever since, but only started with Python in 2015, when I started working at a company where we’d write automated tests for Android mobile devices.

What’s one of the features about Python you like the best?

It’s a bit cliché, but I’d say it’s Python’s simplicity and cleanliness. The community is also incredible!

What’s your favorite Python library (core or third-party), and why?

Selenium. It’s not really my favorite nowadays, but it was responsible for a big part of my Python learning when I joined that company (we also did automated tests on internal websites), so it kinda brings back memories.

What’s the coolest or most memorable thing that’s ever happened to you interacting with other Python devs?

I got to have a beer with people I only knew by name, from books, like Luciano Ramalho. I also met the incredible folks from the company I work at now, which I’m really proud to be in!

What can you be found doing when you’re not writing code?

I’ve recently bought a PS4, so I guess I’m still in the ‘new toy’ phase where I put a lot of time into it, haha. I really dig playing music as well, just wish I was a bit better at it.

What’s the best advice you’ve received as a Python developer?

Don’t reinvent the wheel. There’s probably a package/lib that does what you’re trying to accomplish.

Subscribe to catch more interviews with the PyBay2018 speakers!

--

--

Ben Hancock
PyBay
Editor for

Data journalist and Python programmer. Linux enthusiast. SF Python volunteer.