7 Interesting Things I Learned About Ghanaian Culture

It explains why my parents think I’m spoilt

Kurtis Pykes
Pykes Notes

--

Me wearing traditional cloth in Lashibi.

I’m Ghanaian because of my parents. I speak the Akan language. I wear kente. I eat waakye, kenkey, and fufu. I support the team during the World Cup. But I have no clue what it’s actually like to be a Ghanaian. I was born and bred in London, England. The reason my parents think I’m spoilt.

I had last visited Ghana 15 years ago. I didn’t know what to expect this time apart from it being completely different from England. For starters, the Sun isn’t for decoration in Ghana. It really is hot.

The moment I landed, I took out my analytical hat and began taking notes. These are 7 interesting things I learned about Ghanian culture during my 2-week stay.

1. Who you are really matters

One could argue that wealthy and powerful people everywhere are treated with favor. In Ghana it’s different. The people working in civil service are amongst some of the most powerful people in the country.

The police, for one, walk around with AK47s: I heard most would only have 4–5 bullets in the magazine or they’ll be empty. Either way, I don’t want to find out. If they decide they want to jump to the front of a queue there’s pretty much nothing you can do.

--

--

Kurtis Pykes
Pykes Notes

SaaS Content Writer | Sharing everything I learn as I build my solo business to $10M in revenue