Peace is…

Haiku on nature

Dee Rhymes With Tree
Q Street Poetry
2 min readJul 24, 2023

--

Double exposure 35mm film photography by Dee Lister

Seeking nature’s space,
Where a lone tree stands, we sit.
I contemplate love.

Author’s notes

This haiku celebrates one of my favourite things to do: sitting in a meadow doing nothing but attuning to nature’s sights and sounds for a few hours.

My dog comes with me and I opt to sit on my coat. The bulk of a blanket along with my film camera bag over my shoulder is enough as I wander into bracken and seek out secluded spots.

It’s not easy quietening the mind when I sit down. Sometimes it takes me an hour to settle, but that’s just how brains work. My intention is to slow down a bit, and return to the human world rejuvenated. And it always works...

Photo of Dee and their dog in a meadow by the author

Thanks for reading and wishing you a peaceful day. Also thank you Q Street Poetry for publishing this poem and a few already!

Dee Lister (they/theirs) is a tree-loving trauma warrior, visual artist and writer. If you like my work you can subscribe to occasional updates on my website, follow me on Medium or on Insta (deelisterphotos).

Q Street Poetry is a new publication on Medium committed to questioning, resisting, and troubling the status quo through poetry. Come join us!

--

--

Dee Rhymes With Tree
Q Street Poetry

Words and art by one who wears their art on their blood and grass stained dungarees. Dee Lister. She/they