Interviewing Artist, Madhu S. AKA Femvisionary!

Reem Alomari
Qamber Designs and Media
5 min readSep 30, 2021

Tell us about who you are as an artist, what you do, how you got here. :D

I am Madhu, a contemporary artist behind the brand Femvisionary. Born and raised in the Middle East, I have been drawing since I was a child and in 2018 I decided to start an Instagram account. This was the start of my journey as a serious artist. Known for my bold use of color, vibrant florals, and expressive animal paintings, I love bright combinations and using contrast colors within my artwork.

Currently, with 77k followers, I have had a chance to work with well-established brands around the world. I have had the opportunity to be a content creator for the watercolor brand Art Philosophy and a Brand Ambassador to Skillshare and this has given me further chances to nurture a loving and supportive community.

We’d love to know what inspires you?

Generally, I start with a theme for my collection. The theme I always choose is
inherently special to me. My first collection last year was ”Awaken” which was inspired by the growth all of us had during the stressful pandemic time. The collection was bright with florals and each piece was inspired by a part of my journey — Gratitude, Amour, Clarity, Refresh, Merci, etc.

What have been your favorite pieces so far?

I love all of my paintings and currently, it is my new bird’s collection “Liberté

I just started working on them and have completed two pieces from the collection and one has already sold! The reason this collection is so special to me is that birds signify Freedom and that word is very special to me.

Freedom is such an important part of the human existence, the freedom to make our own choices, the freedom to live, the freedom to be who we want to be. And for every one of us, freedom has a special place in our hearts and that’s why this collection is so special to my heart and my soul.

What’s been your favorite moments from giving workshops?

Every time I host a workshop, I get really lovely comments from my students and this always makes me excited. I love teaching and combining it with my next love — art.

Workshops are probably my most favorite part of being an artist! When I see my students painting florals or using watercolors when they haven’t ever tried it before, there is this special smile on their faces and that always makes me happy.

Talk to us about your future goals!

I am excited that in the upcoming months, I will be launching my stationery
collection inspired by my artwork. This is something I always dreamed about but now I can see this become a reality. I have been through the process of sampling and in December, I hope to launch my new collection. From there, I want to make Femvisionary an internationally recognized brand and would love to grow my business to a place where I can support other artists as well on their journey.

Who would you love to collaborate with dead or alive? This could be an artist like you or an artist of a different kind!

I would love to collaborate with Agnes Cecile, She was the first artist I ever came across who made watercolors such a fun medium. She made every artwork she created into a story and a lovely mystery. I first saw her work in 2009 and since then I have been committed to learning watercolors. Her work truly inspired me to the point that I haven’t gotten as excited about other mediums as I do with watercolors.

What advice would you give to aspiring artists?

The one piece of advice I wish I had gotten when I first started is to build your
skills as an artist — Learn the foundation, the brush movements, the use of paint, the actual technique behind a painting. Once you have learned the technique, it is easier to build your unique style, to paint almost anything, and thus become recognized for your work. And this starts with learning from someone else, learning from courses that can help you.

When I started, there were not many contemporary artists who taught the kind of art that I wanted to learn, but now there are so many artists who make the process easier. So you can skip ahead of the stages of testing and try and jump into stunning artwork. And this is my general focus in all my courses and classes.

Follow Femvisionary online: Instagram | Website

If you liked this #inspirational interview, share it with someone who would love a good read!

--

--