5 Tips to a Work-Life Balance in Seoul, South Korea

Piril
QARA
Published in
5 min readAug 2, 2019

I have lived in Seoul for a month now and it amazes me how quickly time has passed. Embracing one of the most unique and special cultures in the world, I felt immersed from the moment I stepped foot in Incheon Airport. It has been challenging but a blessing at the same time. These are 5 tips to balance working and living in Seoul as a foreigner:

1. If you need help, do not be shy to ask Koreans! They are always willing to help.

Korean people are extremely kind, helpful, and caring to others, even to strangers. I have felt taken care of in public transportation, cabs, convenience stores, and many other places. I feel safe and surrounded by good people at all times, which is a feeling I had never experienced before in my life. It makes me appreciate the kindness that is prominent in the city. Even though I am a foreigner, they treat me like their own and take care of me regardless, which I cherish and feel grateful about. If I am late to work, they always help me find my way.

It is also very comforting to know that you can walk the streets at any time of the day and feel safe. The education rate is very high, it is highly homogeneous, and has a very communal culture; thus there is less crime throughout the country. I feel very comfortable and safe at all times, which is a feeling I have never felt before in any metropolitan city.

2. Take your job seriously, as Koreans are very punctual people who value respect.

Working has been an amazing experience, as my team and the company, QARASOFT, are extremely helpful and friendly, and everyone is willing to contribute as much as they can to the firm. I am surrounded by kind, clever, hard-working, driven people which makes me want to become a better version of myself. We are provided with a variety of tasks so I am able to learn more about many different fields. It’s a very high paced working environment and even in a span of a month, I have been exposed to many opportunities. This week we went to an exhibition called NextRise 2019 and presented two of our products, Kosho and WhatisFund, to the attendees and Venture Capital firms interested in our company. I participated in a VC pitch with my colleagues and it was an incredible experience. QARASOFT has provided me many skills to improve and I am really grateful to be an intern here.

3. Don’t be afraid to express ideas and initiate tasks at work. Koreans will respect your efforts and provide you the opportunity to develop.

At work, my colleague Yura and I initiated a task, a video tutorial for Kosho, as we felt like it was required for more clarification on what the app does. We submitted a proposal to the firm, it got approved, and we are currently in the process of completing our video, and we planned the entire outline and implementation. It has been an insightful and empowering experience for me, and I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to directly contribute to QARA and KOSHO as a summer intern.

4. Do not forget to bow to show respect and receive items from people senior to you, at work and out of work, with two hands.

Respect is a very important aspect of Korean culture and even though our firm is a startup, there is still an emphasis on showing respect at all times. Every time I arrive at work, I bow to the CEOs to show my respect and I accept items with two hands to also convey that I respect them. Small actions like these are fundamental and can make or break your relationship with others in South Korea.

5. Take good care of yourself and present yourself well, as it is an important part of Korean culture to look put together at all times.

Seoul is one of the most vibrant, safe, and stylish cities in the world. Everyone is wearing make-up with impeccable clothing at all times, it is hardly impossible to find anyone wearing clothing that does not seem put together. At work, everyone brushes their teeth after lunch and on the metro, at work, after lunch, you can find every single Korean woman re-applying their makeup. It seems as though the entire country is seeking perfection at all fronts: looks, brains, and character. As a foreigner, I am in awe, as it makes me motivated to aim for more as well. South Korea makes you ambitious and determined. Thus, to work, you are expected to be smart, casual, and presentable at all times. Even if you are going to stroll on the street, always take care of your clothes, skin, and hygiene!

The people, the environment, the culture, and the language have all left me wanting to stay here for longer. One thing is for certain: this won’t be the last time living in this city!

Invest In the SINGLE’s Industry

Modern day society is filled with millions of single-person households around the world. Open KOSHO to find stocks related to this particular industry.

About Us

QARAsoft (QARA) aims to cross the bridge between finance and tech by providing asset management services through the AI deep learning technology. Our patented “Market Dreamer” engine analyzes the past 30 years of financial history and takes into account nearly 400 million datasets. We have 2 products that are readily available at the moment.

If you want to connect with us, please check our social media sites!

--

--