How does reciting the Quran take us to Paradise?

Samar Kainaaf
qforquran
Published in
4 min readMay 23, 2019

I offered my Salah in the company of my grandmother on this blessed Friday afternoon, and as we finished, she briefly explained me the importance of Jummah, salah and paradise.

Her soft voice and peaceful speech really relaxed my mind. Right after, she opened the Holy Quran and started her recitation.

I asked her, “I’m curious about Paradise, what’s it like?”

“Paradise, or Jannah. The reality of paradise is a phenomenon that isn’t imaginable or clear until we enter it. But to get an idea, Allah has shown us a couple of glances it in the Quran. Jannah is a place that’s comprehensively very different to this place. Let me read to you. Would you like to hear?”

“YES”. I was so eager to know.

“In the Quran, Allah describes the afterlife, the permanent one. He gives a description of a most nonpareil wonder that’s ready for us but beyond our imagination. Everyone will be granted what they desire, and no pain or sorrow will ever come across them. There will be personified perfection that has never been seen by the eyes of this world. All Muslims will be blessed with more than they wanted”.

“… there will be there all that the souls could desire, all that the eyes could delight in …” (Quran 43:71)

I was just awestruck. I was eager to know more.

“But you see, all this comes along when we obey our Allah and follow his guidance. Allah wants us to lead our lives a certain way, the way that’s best for us.

In Arabic, Jannah means “garden”.

“But give glad tidings to those who believe and work righteousness, that their portion is gardens, beneath which rivers flow” (2:25).

In this life, we suffer, we feel pain, we endure agony and we tolerate. For this tolerance, Allah’s rewards us with Jannah. Allah tells to acquire patience and believe in him. Not to lose hope. If we persevere in this life and maintain our faith in Allah, the life of the Hereafter is free from all hardship and uphill battles”

“Be quick in the race for forgiveness from your Lord, and for a garden whose width is that (of the whole) of the heavens and of the earth, prepared for the righteous” (3:133)

You work so hard, you study, then you head towards your job. All for success, right? To bear financial stability. But when you lost your previous job, you were so upset weren’t you? This is all part of this worldly life, money coming and going. But in Paradise, it’s nothing like this. There’s no struggle and no irregularity. You will be blessed with more than you had ever cognize.

“… They will be adorned therein with bracelets of gold, and they will wear green garments of fine silk and heavy brocade. They will recline therein on raised thrones. How good [is] the recompense! How beautiful a couch [is there] to recline on!” (Quran 18:31)

My grandmother had been sick for really long period of time. Her faith in Allah brought tears to my eyes when she said, “I’ve endured so much pain, during my illness. But you see, I recite Quran and search for my rewards, and this ache doesn’t feel as tough anymore. I know I’ll be compensated with the best”

“Indeed, may you be healthy and never be sick again, may you live and never die again, may you be young and never grow feeble again, may you enjoy, and never feel sorrow and regret again.” (Saheeh Muslim)

She ended her engaging lesson by then and I had just discovered how beautifully the Quran tells us everything about this life as well as the afterlife. I made it a habit to recite a little everyday with translation. Mostly on my phone because of the convenience. I yearn to learn more each day and increase my knowledge to be a better Muslim.

Reciting the Quran with translation on a daily basis, taught me more than I had imagined to start my drive on the road to Jannah. Taking baby steps, I’m obeying Allah’s commands for the afterlife.

--

--