“My Journey to Regular Qur’an Recitation.”

Hiba Owais
qforquran
Published in
4 min readMay 8, 2019

As a child, I have always considered myself a very privileged individual who was fortunate enough to be born in a family that was really close to the true values of Islam. Since my childhood, I have witnessed my father, my mother, my grandparents and other members of the family offering 5 obligatory prayers daily, no matter the circumstances or occasion, nobody would ever miss any of the 5 prayers. Hence I at a very early age developed the habit of offering prayers regularly.

Similarly, the month of Ramadan was also celebrated with a lot of enthusiasm and religious spirit. I could hardly think of a single occasion when I or anybody from us would have skipped a single Ramadan fast without a valid or genuine reason. Likewise, my parents have always tried their best to infuse high moral and character in their children.

Regardless of this, I and my siblings could not develop the habit of reading the Quran daily. Since my childhood, I have always seen my father reciting Quran regularly. I still remember when we were school going kids, my father would sit in our room in the morning. He would recite the Quran in front of us while our mother got us ready for school. But I as a child failed to realize or I didn’t even bother to pay much attention as to why he would do that. Although there was enough space in the home where he could have sat down to read the Quran.

We all grew up, but Quran reading habit remained confined to either the vacations or the month of Ramadan. Apart from it, I would rarely get the honor to open the Quran and read it. Whenever I used to think of reciting Quran I would become lazy.

However, the days went by. I got admission in an engineering University and I became super busy with my studies. I would read the Quran once or twice a month and that’s all. But when my graduation was near, my sister who is around 3 years younger than me developed the habit of reading the Quran with proper translation regularly. Needless to say that she adopted this habit from my father.

When I saw her reciting Quran regularly, I felt a bit disappointed in myself. The thought that my sister who is younger than me has realized the importance of reading the Quran regularly and I being the elder one failed to do so was really upsetting for me. Something that she should have learning from me, I was learning from her.

At that very important I decided to incorporate the regular habit of reading Quran along with the proper translation in my daily life. Until I completed my graduation, the Quran has become an important part of my life. But I used to recite it in the afternoon or evening, though everybody else in the family used to recite it in the morning.

After my graduation as I was still in my job hunt phase, I would wake up early in the morning. I would offer Fajar prayers, would recite other morning duas, make dua to Allah and would go back to sleep.

One day as I was surfing through social media, I saw a really beautiful and inspiring video explaining the importance of reciting Quran in the morning in the light of Quranic verses and Sunnah. Our Holy Prophet (P.B.U.H) used to recite the Quran in the morning. This is the time when angels descend on our home. It touched me so much that I decided to recite Qur’an every day in the morning.

Quran became a vital part of my everyday life. The habit of reading Quran has immensely affected my life. I have seen a great amount of improvement in my outlook towards life. I have become more patient, soft-spoken and thankful towards Allah (S.W.T). The way the Quran eases our lives is beyond explainable.

--

--