Why people can’t have a daily Quran recitation habit?

Samar Kainaaf
qforquran
Published in
3 min readMay 11, 2019

The routine of reciting Quran on a daily basis differs from individual to individual depending on what they hold as priority during their regular routine. Some people follow a routine in which they recite more than once a day, some practice a pattern in which they recite a few times a week, and some don’t follow any convention in which they would recite once a month, or even once a year. I was the one who didn’t touch the Quran unless it was Friday, or unless at some funeral.

Certain stimuli in life act as triggers in a person’s life to bring about the change. It pulls us towards the path of Allah and for me personally, that was when my mother passed away. With a plethora of questions in my head, I was a lost soul that had fallen between cracks and that’s when a lady came to me as an angel in the form of a human who guided me towards the path of Quran. Within me, a new person had emerged. A person that never felt this solace, comfort and most of all satisfaction of that fact that everything is in its place. Gradually moved on to Tafseer and found a fresh level of knowledge that pulled me like gravity. I learnt to love more, forgive more, be more patient and found this closure that hadn’t been felt in the longest time.

Furthermore, for this article I questioned few of my closest people, as to why they don’t recite Quran daily? Friend A blamed it on her 9pm to 5pm exhausting job and explained how she doesn’t have time to even breathe but practices her religious duties over the weekends whereas friend B said that it is best to read with translation or recite in a language that she understands so the context of it is understandable and that she plans to start it soon with translation. Friend C mentioned that she will start daily recitation once she makes it a habit to offer her salah regularly. I questioned all of them concerning the idea of how eager they were to bring this change in their lives and all of them seemed to be very determined as well as obliging to it. They had the earmarks of wanting to get on to the path but gave off this confusion of how exactly they should go about it. I felt a lack of guidance in their responses.

The guidance factor may stand as the paramount hindrance between them and the recitation of Quran regularly. But definitely not something that cannot be resolved. There may be not one but several such reasons of why they demur from it. The solution lies in the change that needs to come from within. It can’t be forced or contrived. It comes along motivation, effort, that one slight push and you’re off to a road that’s going to show you the route itself. I am now far more occupied that I was back then, but now recitation of Quran is not just a part of my routine, it’s a part of me.

--

--