Join Qiskit Advocates to Expand Your Network and Grow

Farai Mazhandu
Qiskit
Published in
4 min readJun 16, 2020
Brainstorming session, Qiskit Camp Africa, South Africa 2019

Quantum computers have finally developed enough that anyone can program one. That means it’s time to build a strong and inclusive community where people can ask questions of one another, share their observations, suggest new approaches, manage expectations, and discover quantum computing’s full potential.

I am Farai Mazhandu, and my fascination with physics and computer science goes back to high school. Currently, I hold a master’s degree in experimental quantum physics from Wits University in South Africa and I am a Zimbabwean. I belong to the first cohort of Qiskit advocates and it has been an exciting experience. Having unlimited access to such a rich network has helped me to develop and improve my skill set, stay on top of the latest trends in quantum computing, keep a pulse on opportunities, meet prospective mentors and collaborators, make friends, and gain access to important resources that are bound to make me successful in the field.

For me, the outstanding part of being a Qiskit Advocate is having access to an informal network of enthusiasts, hobbyists, coaches, and mentors who have the experience (aka ‘scars’) and expertise needed to coax me forward. The Qiskit community is open-minded and very helpful. I get incredible support as I work on Github issues and hone my Python skills. Thanks to some of the great relationships I have developed at events and through active participation in the Qiskit community, I get to shadow people working in roles that I admire. This gives me the chance to have an actual feel for what working in quantum computing is like.

A strong network has a tremendous impact on career and professional growth. As the Qiskit network grows, some of these people will become long-term collaborators, and others may serve as a pool of friendly referees. I agree that it is important to make friends with esteemed people, but with Qiskit, you also make friends with your peers and your juniors. All these connections are important and will come in handy in different circumstances.

Here is why I think you should join me and build your own network in the Qiskit community:

  1. There are so many accessible resources to make one well-educated in the practice of coding for quantum computers, like Qiskit videos on YouTube and the online Qiskit textbook. Additionally, Qiskit has a strong digital footprint so interactions via videos, social media, Slack, and online events (especially in these days of Covid19) are well-catered to.
  2. IBM has built an extraordinary fleet of open access quantum devices and Qiskit is quantum hardware agnostic. These systems are competitive today and likely will be so in the future when quantum computing can be applied to real-world use cases. Learning about them now is a great move.
  3. Qiskit Camps, which have been held across four continents (USA, Europe, Asia, and Africa), are ideal events not only to learn more about Qiskit but to meet fellow passionate Qiskitters while competing on teams from all over the world. You get to work hard and play hard at these events, and they’re often held at fun and surprising locations — I went to one at Pilanesberg Game Reserve in South Africa and it was a truly memorable experience. If you are like me and are interested in quantum computing, love traveling, and want to experience great places with others, then I know of no better community to join. (Covid19 has temporarily halted these but hopefully, they will come back in some form)
  4. The Qiskit community is diverse and features hobbyists, artists, hackers, and many more. You have rare access to a worldwide community of experts and enthusiasts. With an open mind, readiness to suggest, contribute, and learn, everyone is an asset to the community.

Quantum computing is a relatively young field and needs all of us to make it work. I encourage you to seriously consider becoming a Qiskit Advocate, as this can be a catalyst for producing new ideas and starting new collaborations. Getting to a future where quantum computers break new ground will require the collective talent and contributions of many brilliant people like you. Whether or not you know it, you have something important to contribute. If reading this post got you excited, then you may have found your quantum tribe. Welcome home!

Interested in becoming a Qiskit Advocate in 2020? Let us know here, and we’ll be sure to update you when the next round of submissions open up on July 15th!

--

--

Farai Mazhandu
Qiskit
Writer for

I take on seemingly complicated subjects and make them simple to understand and exciting to think about.