7 Things On Sunday — 02

Olumide
Qlick Nigeria
Published in
2 min readMay 15, 2016

(Un)Interesting Things I Came Across In The Last 7 days

Hello, I would apologize for posting this a little late but I wouldn’t mean it, hence I will go straight to why we are here. The last 7 days were pretty boring things-wise but I still managed to gather the following interesting things because of my sheer determination to test my commitment to these “things”. So, here they are;

  1. Instagram changed their logo and entire brand identity from the widely loved former ones to a new, bright and rainbow-ish new one and there was a natural outrage from a lot of people, yours truly, for about 5 minutes. The most amusing people, however, were people that went as far as designing new logos for the company. Here are some samples. Some others, who have accepted the logo, also came up with some really stellar renditions of the new Insta logo. Examples here and here.
  2. Taylor Swift cares about Computer and Internet Security, no kidding! No, not really but a big fan of hers made a collection of Taylor Swift quotes on computer security here.
  3. I don’t keep up with Nigerian music anymore simply because I can’t. Keeping up with Nigerian music is extremely tedious so I take solace in the popular ones I hear on the street, on Radio (occasionally) and DJ mixes I come across on the Internet, like this one by a certain DJ Sensei Lo. This one bangs, no lie!
  4. I don’t know if finding imaginative ways of destroying gadgets you can barely afford is your thing, but I know that watching these videos from TechRax are fun. Check out this one where they boiled an iPhone 6 in Coke! or this one where they poured HCl on an iPhone 6S. Smh
  5. The good people of the great German city of Augsburg have decided to make walking while texting a little bit safer for pedestrians by installing traffic lights where they typically look, the ground! The LED lights flash green when pedestrians can continue walking and turns red when they should stop. Great stuff!
  6. Here’s the first official trailer of one of my most anticipated movies of 2016, Jason Bourne. The Bourne Legacy was a bit of BS in Matt Damon’s absence but now that he’s back, I hope Bourne returns to being Bourne.
  7. Last but not the least, NASA says they have discovered and verified the existence of 1,284 new planets as if memorizing 9 planets as a student in secondary school wasn’t hard enough. Good luck to science students of this age. Here’s the full gist about said planets.

Thanks for reading, see you next week!

--

--