What’s Like to Work at Qlue

Febryanto Chang
Qlue Smart City
Published in
4 min readJul 25, 2019

Yesterday was my last day at Qlue and I would like to share bits of what I have learned there.

Photo by Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

Yesterday marked my last day in Qlue, the first workplace that accepts me as part of a product team, and not to mention allows me to experience being a Product Manager. Yesterday also served as a reminder for me that I am on my way to embark on a new adventure, new mission, and new experience.

I’m trying to live my life where I try my best not to have any regrets in it. To be honest, it is not easy yet it is possible. I need to shift my point of view from seeing problem as a bad thing to treating them as a challenge; or viewing bad things happened as a lesson to be learned.

Yet, I would dare say that I do not regret my decision to work in Qlue 1 year 2 months ago. Through the good and bad, I learned a great deal from my time there and certainly have grown so much since the day I first entered the gate of Pejaten Barat no 13. If I were to say everything I have learnt there, this article would turn into an essay, so here are few extraordinary things that I would like to enlight:

1. Working with Government

If I had a ‘gopek (500 rupiah)’ coin for every time someone says “Qlue is the government application for reporting, right?”, I would have enough coins to pay for parking for the whole year. And that is the beauty, ain’t it?

Qlue, as a private company, managed to work with government to the point everyone thinks the application itself is part of the government. Well, hate to break it up to you, Qlue is a private company, but Qlue works with government because all the reports from citizens have to be responded and followed up, right?

During my time in Qlue, and basically from the rumors you can get, I can say that some local governments do work a bit slow and filled with bureaucracy. Thus, It is not an easy feat to work with government, yet Qlue managed to pull it. I am amazed on how deep the connection Qlue has weaved into the government, resulting in an unprecedented solution toward citizens’ problem in several cities. I do believe that what separates Qlue from other Smart City Solution.

2. Mission and Workplace

Qlue has a mission of ‘Accelerating positive changes worldwide’. That is the North Star mission that everybody in Qlue look up to. No matter what product or project we are under, or what position we are, the end result shall in a way accelerate positive changes around them.

Few years ago, I would not know how much vision or mission can have impact to someone’s motivation. Now I witnessed it myself. I saw my colleagues, my team members worked hard without complaining because they believe they would create social impact to the users, the citizens themselves. They do not mind having to add several hours to one working day, or even coming to the office during weekend (still within a healthy standard though :) ). I am truly amazed on the tenacity one can exert when they believe in something.

Working with those people are truly a remarkable opportunity for me. It does truly feel like being part of something greater, yet it still has the ‘family’ kind of warmth in it. I certainly will cherish all the laughs, the sweat, the tears and the joy (and the food) we have shared together.

3. Start with Yourself

Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.” — Rumi

That is one of the quotes that I take dearly because it shows that one cannot go and say they want to change the world without changing themselves first. It is just like the Man in the Mirror — Michael Jackson’s song, where you have to start with yourself. Moreover, it also provides me with a reminder that the only person that you can control is you. It is preposterous to think that you can control others.

I am a growth-freak, I suppose. I would go mad if I think that I am not growing or learning everyday. I also realise that in order to grow, one needs to know themselves first. They need to know their own strengths and weaknesses, and then start capitalising on those. And I found that in Qlue.

In the beginning, Qlue’s employees would be tasked to take the MBTI test and found out their type. I actually have done that before, but only at Qlue I was enlightened about the benefits of knowing a person’s type, especially ourselves.

I am glad that Qlue realise that in order to grow, discover yourself first. And throughout the year, there are lots of coaches and other tests to shed a light on who you are, what are your strengths and weaknesses, and how do you best capitalising on that. I am forever grateful for those lessons and I would take it with me wherever I go, and wherever I would grow.

Don’t cry because it’s over. SMILE because it happened.
— Dr. Seuss

In the end, it is sad to say goodbye, but I am also thankful for what happened till now. This might be the last article that I wrote in Qlue but let us celebrate on that instead. I hope all the best for Qlue’s future endeavour and see you on top. Chang’s Out. *Mic drop*

--

--