NYT VR: “An amazing way to experience journalism?

Caroline Smith
4 min readOct 18, 2016

--

Not many people can say they have looked down into New York City from the top of the World Trade Center, or sat in the audience of a presidential campaign in Washington, DC.

I got to experience these moments. The catch: I experienced these among many others without leaving my own bedroom in suburban Connecticut. Impossible? No.

All of this was made possible, thanks to NYT VR and a cardboard contraption.

Virtual reality (VR) is a hot topic in journalism right now. Who better to get into the VR game than top news source The New York Times?

The New York Times have developed NYT VR: an app that transports readers from the real world into an “immersive, 360-degree video experience.”

Credit: Pixabay

I read the App Store reviews for NYT VR. Most of the negative reviews relate to users being unable to figure out using their phones with the cardboard for the full experience. Aside from that, the reviews were pretty stellar. One even said it was “an amazing way to experience journalism.”

Upon first downloading, I was impressed by the amount of content that was available in the NYT VR app. I could watch a video about walking the streets of New York, or the language of dolphins and whales.

For class, each student was asked to purchase inexpensive cardboard headsets (shown below) specifically designed for VR apps like NYT VR.

Credit: Flickr

What surprised me was that when I watched the NYT VR app videos using the cardboard headset was that I was not really watching the videos. I literally felt as though I was in the video. When I moved, the video did too. If I turned to the left, I was suddenly looking at something new. I was conveniently sitting in a swivel chair and found myself spinning in circles, exploring these unfamiliar surroundings.

It was a really cool experience using the NYT VR app. I could not really get over how real virtual reality really felt.

How NYT VR stacks up with competitors

Jaunt

I was impressed by the content on the Jaunt app. They were very creative, very similar to those on the NYT VR app. What I did notice that these videos were very cinematic (with a lot of dramatic music). It didn’t seem like I was watching a news feature, but more of a documentary.

VR by USA TODAY

VR by USA TODAY was the only other app aside from NYT VR that was run directly by a single news source. I definitely thought this was more straightforward news than some of the more flashy and creative videos on NYT VR. USA TODAY’s videos felt like I was watching something live, but there was no real journalistic story behind it.

It’s easy to see that NYT VR is the frontrunner in the virtual reality news sector. Very few apps offer journalism in the form of VR — and NYT VR does it best. NYT VR has the best of both worlds — informative yet creative and entertaining.

I would recommend anyone to download the NYT VR app and purchase a cardboard headset to see what virtual reality is all about.

Virtual reality and the future of journalism

New York Times Virtual Reality Editor Jenna Pirog and Associate Editor Sam Dolnick, associate editor sat down for a podcast to talk about all things VR.

“We don’t see VR being the endpoint of journalism,” The two said. They explained that VR does not give context to a story like an actual written piece does. VR enhances a story, but could not stand on its own and fully replace today’s journalism.

I agree with Jenna and Sam’s stance on this. While VR definitely enhances a story, it cannot be the sole source of journalism by itself.

Currently, VR is a time-consuming process from filming to post-production. It physically could not be used for breaking news stories because it could not be made fast enough.

The bottom line: worth it for journalists?

Embedding a VR video into a long-form piece of journalism could be very valuable. It adds to the story, breaks up the story, and gives readers further understanding of the story.

That being said, VR apps like NYT VR are worth it for journalists to an extent. They add something extra to a story, but is not always necessary. Only the right story needs VR.

--

--