More Funding = Problem Solved?

Does all of this money matter?

Schools across the country struggle to competently provide the quality education that each student deserves. The current reality is that not all schools are equal, even within the same city or school district.

The purpose of my blogs and research is to find out why this is the case and how it is impacting students. Another blog post on Medium that I found sharing a similar topic was “Restoring the Right to Rise Through a Quality Education,” written by Jeb Bush, the 43rd Governor of Florida. He brought up a lot of good points about the issue that I will go over.

In a world that is heavily materialistic, those with less money are obviously put in a clear disadvantage. This fact applies to both schools and family with lower income. School can’t supply their students with resources needed for educational success such as good teacher or contemporary equipment and technology or extracurriculars. I believed with more money, a lot of the current issues plaguing schools will be solved. However, I never considered a student’s own financial situation issues which Bush mentioned in his blog. “Only one-third of students graduate high school prepared for college or a good career. And our higher education system has become too expensive for many Americans to afford.” (Bush, 2016) In other words, students of lower income are still at risk when it comes to getting the education they need and deserve regardless if the school get more funding. What use are all the new up-to-date equipment and technology when some students can’t even use them?

I was wrong to believe schools are the only institutions that require heavy funding. Low-income students requires help as well. College financial aid should be expanded upon in order to allow more student the ability to attend their desired college. Bush have a plan he proposed, which he outlines in steps in his blog on how to combat the high cost of college. I strongly suggest you, as a reader interested affordable education, to give his blog a quick read.

As I continue my research on this topic of quality and affordable education, I hope to find more interesting points made by others. Reading other people’s blog on a topic which I am heavily invested in, I realized one thing. Additional funding for schools can solved a lot of issues. But schools are not the only institutions in need of help. I hope by continuing my research, I can hep find a potential and plausible solution eventually.

Bush, Jeb (2016, January 18). Restoring the right to rise through a quality Education. Medium. https://medium.com/@JebBush/restoring-the-right-to-rise-through-a-quality-education-a27ef314f2c

--

--