Cannondale Synapse HiMod Dura-Ace (2018)

The perfect all-arounder.

Hong
Quan Collection 2.0
3 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

Love takes time. I bought this Synapse two years ago, and it took about 18 months and nearly 750 miles for me to fall in love. It really is the perfect bike for me. I’m not usually a fan of red bikes, but it just works. I ended up getting a new aero helmet, new ‘red-bottom’ shoes and even a matching red wind jacket to ride this thing. Red is the color of love right? And you can’t be a MAMIL without matchy-matchy kit to go with your mid-life crisis ‘red sports bike’.

Electronic vs. Mechanical

I’ve been lucky enough to use Dura-Ace kit for the last 20+ years. And this latest 9100 generation is the best version they’ve ever made. At least until the next 9200 gen with 12 speed and wireless shifting. While I appreciate Di2 and understand why it is the choice of Pro Racers, I prefer a mechanical system that’s relatively easy to adjust and maintain. The hydraulic disc brakes are phenomenal stoppers with sublime lever feel. The shifting is Shimano perfect. The only spec change I made to the bike from stock was an upgrade to Dura-Ace rotors, and swapping out the Ultegra cassette to a proper Dura-Ace one with titanium cogs. You can’t beat a full Dura-Ace kit on any road bike. So Pro.

Tubes vs. Tubeless

Tires are becoming a bit of an obsession for me. I tried a handful of wheels and tires on the Synapse before I settled on the current setup. While the wheels look like stock Hollowgrams, I sold the original wheels before I even rode them. Those were the Hollowgram TRs meant to be used with a 28c or wider tire. I tried some ENVE 3.4’s with Chris King hubs, but found them to be too loud for my tastes. The wheels on the bike now are Hollowgram Si’s from a SuperSix Evo Disc. They’re a bit lighter, made for 25c tires, and have bladed spokes for a bit of aerodynamic benefit. They’re fast without being too deep, and lightweight without giving up strength. Carbon fiber wheels are amazing.

The Challenge Roubaix 27c tires are the perfect mix of comfy, cushy — with supple ride feel (open tubulars) and low rolling resistance. I started road riding when 23c was considered “wide” and still have some 19c tubular tires hanging in the rafters. On these wider carbon rims, the Roubaix’s measure out to nearly 30mm — enough width to ride paved trails and light dusty gravel connectors between the paved roads. This same bike is the weapon of choice for the cobbled classics under the EF Pro Cycling team. If it’s good enough for Taylor Phinney, it’s good enough for me. (He coulda/shoulda won Roubaix!)

Ups and Downs

The best thing about all-arounders is that they can be the one-bike solution. The Synapse is light enough to climb with the best of them, and aggressive enough for me to descend as fast as I am comfortable. Even with the wide rubber, it still weighs in at 16lbs on the dot. Sure I could go up a little faster on my dedicated hillclimb bike. And I could descend a bit faster on my SuperSix Evo with its racier geometry. But over two years, I haven’t been able to find a road disc bike that’s better for me than this Red Rocket. I don’t think I would have finished my first century, and felt ok at the end, on any other bike I have.

It is the perfect balance of heart and mind for tackling any route in the Bay Area. It truly is a lovely machine. I love it.

--

--

Hong
Quan Collection 2.0

Founder of @KarmicBikes. Former Mentor at @500Startups and Thiel Foundation’s @20Under20. I’ve hired a lot of people.