Mad Man Mikkelsen

Old School Monstercross Gravel BMX

Hong
Quan Collection 2.0
2 min readApr 2, 2021

--

Do you see it? I realize it might be hard to spot with the famous “Commando Camo” paintjob. But it’s not a Ritchey. This frame comes from the lesser known Oakland (Alameda) shop of Bernie Mikkelsen, a local legend who doesn’t have quite the same marketing chops as the industry legend in Redwood City (San Carlos). Bernie’s been building frames since before I was born. Before Mountain Bikes existed even.

So what is this? Well, it’s another wild and wacky restomod. That paint job is from D&D, another local legend painter, who just happens to be the one who did the camo sprays on custom Ritchey’s too. I think you can still get Rick to lay down this “heritage paint job” on a new Ritchey, if you’re willing to wait a while, and have $5–600 burning a hole in your pocket.

But this whole bike cost me less than that.

If you look past the paint, and have an eye for pixels, you might notice that the wheels are mixed up. That’s a 650b or 27.5" up front, and the classic 26" in the back. Mullets are cool again right? Thanks to my friends at Panaracer for making the same tire in two distinct sizes. The fork is a Salsa, with a cheap spray-can job to kinda, sorta match the frame. I know, it doesn’t match. IDC.

I call it the BMX because my first bike was one, and they’re always fun. Bernie Mikkelsen Xtreme. This is beyond Level 5 gravel. It’s a mountain bike with drop bars. Original Salsa Cowchippers with the 26.0 clamp size. Original high-rise Control Tech stem. A NOS Koski seatpost in the all-but-forgotten 27.0mm size. I went overboard on the camo theme, with a bar bag, some waterproof sacks, a fanny pack and even a rain jacket.

I swear I’ll go bikepacking with it one day. Or ride from Canada to Mexico.

--

--

Hong
Quan Collection 2.0

Founder of @KarmicBikes. Former Mentor at @500Startups and Thiel Foundation’s @20Under20. I’ve hired a lot of people.