New Black Lightning

Hong
Quan Collection
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2019

Cannondale Supersix EVO (2018) — 52cm — $Sold

Solid race bike, even with the stock components

I only remember two things about my older brother’s new Cannondale. It had huge aluminum tubes, and it was mostly black, with specks of color. Or was it sparkle flakes? I tried to ride it once, but it was way too big for me. That old Black Cannondale would be stuck in the back of my mind for three decades.

One thing the Bike Industry has in common with the Technology Industry is that they both put customers on an eternal Upgrade Treadmill. I’m on my third Pixel phone in just over two years. Sure, I tell myself it’s because of the tiny cracks in the back glass (so it didn’t really affect the functionality). But deep down inside I know I’m upgrading to stay current. To keep up with the Zuckerbergs.

In hillclimb mode, yes 1x11 road works.

Imagine having to ride a 2018 model in 2019? The horror. I actually got this bike in December of 2017, so it’s even “older”. It was originally spec’d with a budget minded Shimano 105 group. I’ve since stripped it down to the frame and built it back up with a mix of kit and wheels. It’s been a ton of fun, but now I‘ve put it “back to stock” so I can move it along. I’ve already got another one of these frames, in the lighter/stiffer Hi Mod carbon (more on that later).

Shimano’s new Ultegra (R8000) kit, including a compact crankset, and a climber-friendly 11–30t cassette makes this a do-it-all race bike. Remember this is similar to the bikes that EF Racing races on the UCI World Tour. With some 27mm Vittoria’s on HED’s Belgium rims, I could do the coastal loop in speed, style and comfort. It almost makes the new category of endurance road bikes unnecessary. Almost.

The Bike Industry will gladly tell you (and me) that it’s oh so very necessary. Road disc! Aero!! Electronic!!! I’m going to have to get something New New.

--

--

Hong
Quan Collection

Founder of @KarmicBikes. Former Mentor at @500Startups and Thiel Foundation’s @20Under20. I’ve hired a lot of people.