Tropic of Taipei

Hong
Quan Collection
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2019

Tropix MIG 17 T+ (2017)

Just a chain and cassette away from racing.

Moving right along, we have another modern carbon race bike from Taiwan. Giant is the literal giant of the bike industry, but there are a couple thousand other Bike Brands across the world. Tropix is a French brand, but is sold in Brazil, and India, and Facebooklandia. I brought the frame back from Taipei, in a make-shift box of my own creation. I said I wouldn’t do it (again), but at the end of the Taipei Cycle Show, this was hanging with a sad “for sale” sign.

The MIG17 T+ is a 27.5" XC racing hardtail, which marks it as old-fashioned and out-dated just two years after it was released. The market moves so quick. Now XC racers are full-suspension, 29ers and are expected to scoot up and rally down gnarlier sections of trail. Some might call it XXC! But I liked the colorway. So I bought it. Trends be damned. Here we go (again) with a build!

Some might not know that the signature on the frame belongs to Miguel Martinez. You’d be forgiven. I’ll admit I didn’t know who he was until the sales guy told me in the booth. I just liked the color. I’ll let a better writer explain:

Endorsed by Olympic Cycling Champion Miguel Martinez with over 400 career wins, who is also awarded the “Legion of Honor” by French President Jacques Chirac, for being a sport champion.

It is one of the highest honors a French National could attain. (press release)

Figured it would be adequate for my kid’s first mountain bike race. If he decides to join a NICA league team in high school. We’ve got a few years.

Funny how celebrity works huh? We’re expected to buy expensive things because someone famous told us to. I ended up buying that SID WCS fork there pretty cheap off Craigslist. When I showed up to the seller’s house, I fanboi’ed a little bit. Turns out it was Chef Chris from The Food Network shows and Cockscomb in SF. He was getting another bike and this old fork didn’t fit. Works for me! Our little bike community is weird and wonderful.

--

--

Hong
Quan Collection

Founder of @KarmicBikes. Former Mentor at @500Startups and Thiel Foundation’s @20Under20. I’ve hired a lot of people.