Backtesting Popular Trading Strategies from Youtube #5

Bollinger Band + RSI Trading Strategy

Rick Hardy
Quant Factory
3 min readJan 17, 2023

--

Source: Canva

👋 Hello and welcome to another issue of the “Backtesting Popular Youtube Strategies” series. 👋

For the newcomers, I have developed my own Backtester in Python, using the backtraderpackage and I use it to test popular and complex trading strategies from YouTube. That way you can receive real and transparent results and not some handpicked situations which support the presented idea.

If you are new you can check some of my previously backtested strategies:

Todays’ strategy

Our strategy for today is fairly simple. I took it from the YouTube channel TradingLab, you can check the video here.

The conditions for the signals are the following:

  • For Long: The price should be below the lower Bolinger band and the RSI should be in the oversold area (below 30).
  • For Short: The price should be above the upper Bolinger band and the RSI should be in the overbought area (above 70).

The period for the Bollinger Bands is 30 and the period for the RSI is 13.

⚠️📈💲If you want to support my work you can subscribe to my FREE newsletter at the link below! 💲📈⚠️

Source: Giphy.com

Backtesting

As per the video, I will test the strategy on the daily timeframe of Tesla(NASDAQ:TSLA). I download the daily Tesla prices for the last 3 years and run the backtest.

In the video, he is promoting the Mean-Reversion theory, so I set the exit condition to be only when the price crosses the middle band.

Let’s see the results.

Backtest results

The strategy was off to a good start. It initially did pretty well, but then it experienced a huge drop. Since then it was only downwards.

Well, that’s all from me for this one folks, we didn’t make money, but we learnt something!

Source: Giphy.com

Loved this story and want to reward the human who wrote it? Consider signing up for Medium. If you sign up with my link, I earn a small commission at no cost to you! And you’ll get full access to all stories on Medium.

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

Also if you have any suggestions or any ideas you want me to test, do share them, and I will do my best to cover them in an article!

Cheers, and see you at the next one!

A Message from QuantFactory:

Thank you for being part of our community! Before you go:

  • Master Quantitative Research with Python👉 here.
  • Join our Premium Discord Server👉 here.
  • Subscribe to our Exclusive Stocks Newsletter 👉 here.
  • If you liked the story feel free to clap 👏 and follow the author
  • For more stories from the Algorithmic Trading and Quantitative Analysis world you should follow the Quant Factory Publication

*Note that this article does not provide personal investment advice and I am not a qualified licensed investment advisor. All information found here is for entertainment or educational purposes only and should not be construed as personal investment advice.

--

--

Rick Hardy
Quant Factory

Top writer in Investing, Finance, Data Science | Co-founder of Quant Factory