Accidentally Discovering an Open Source Hedge Fund

Andrew Kamal
QuantPortal
Published in
2 min readSep 2, 2020

So it turns out when I searched QuantPortal, and ironically I seen this before, I found something quite interesting. (I sometimes by the way search my brands to see how high they rank on certain pages). I found a website called QuantsPortal (no affiliation), and a team of people that seem to be doing something quite interesting. I thought, I might give them somewhat of a shout-out considering what they are doing.

Now this guy decided to create an open source package related to financial engineering, analysis and algorithmic development. He details about it in his blog, and created this Github org account. He also has another website seen here. Outside of that, there is a research group he founded, and he has somewhat of a following.

Technology always interests me. It is interesting to see what other startups in this space are doing, even if you accidentally discover one while searching your brand. This guy’s logo also makes me think he either used Canva or Tailor brands just like me. Perhaps, all Quants are just obsessed with 3D hexagonic tiles.

If his mlfinlab ends up becoming a huge thing in the future, I wouldn’t be surprised. I like seeing other intellectuals in the game, and I think he might be one of them.

Disclosure: Please keep in mind, everything I say is on an opinion based basis. This is not meant to be taken seriously or as some form of actionable advice. Do your own due diligence in any decisions you make.

--

--

Andrew Kamal
QuantPortal

The dude with many different talents *Coder *Inventor *Startup Advisor *Coptic Activist *Sponsored Athlete *Blogger *Conservative *Researcher *Miaphysite