Honeymoon period

Saloni Chopra
Quarantine Blog
Published in
2 min readMar 24, 2020

Last night Rahul picked me up from my chair at 3 am and asked me to dance with him… the dance, within seconds became about how petrified I felt of where we were heading… i’d dreamt about this you know, us – dancing, drinking wine, with our favourite tunes playing softly in the background, stuck in a house together… I just didn’t think we’d be out of water, running out of food, (because we refused to panic buy but now even big basket’s app was on a panic break down) counting down the last of the wine bottles and watching the world die… adding up numbers to see how far behind we were from the deaths multiplying in our own country? Being stuck at home together, dancing, this dream – was never supposed to come at the cost of a world war.

Today is my 10th day of Quarantine… and it has been everything you think it isnt going to be – trust me. I don’t know how long you’ve been stuck on a lockdown, maybe most of you have just begun, on your 2nd or 3rd day… and I hope to god that you’re making the most of it. The early stages.

Now is the time to watch movies and binge watch netflix shows and make cocktails and sleep in till noon, facetime your friends and download apps to keep yourselves busy… work out in your hall, watch the news and send messages in your groups about how absolutely fucked we are – now is the time – your first few days.

Let’s just say you’re in your quarentine honeymoon period.

--

--

Saloni Chopra
Quarantine Blog

Were an epitaph to be my story I’d have a short one ready for my own. I would have written of me on my stone: I had a lover’s quarrel with the world. — RF