Day 16: Kale, Sausage, Potatoes

yw
Quarantine Cooking
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2020

I'm posting a lot today because I'm procrastinating on a take-home exam. Today I ate this one meal and the cookies I baked yesterday. I might have some Boom Chicka Pop later. I used so much kale for this because I haven't been eating many green vegetables lately except that one day I ate some lettuce. Kale shrinks down, though — maybe not as much as spinach, but it definitely shrinks with cooking. I just had to add a bit at a time to the pan so it wouldn't overflow.

This dish is adapted from this recipe from NYT Cooking. All the same elements are there except the broth. I just sautéd everything in a pan instead of simmering in a broth. My recipe would make for two solid servings, but for us today it was two small servings plus leftovers to nibble at the whole day.

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch kale, stems removed and shredded
  • 3 hot Italian sausages
  • 3 Russet potatoes, diced
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • Ample amount of olive oil
  • 1 can Herdez salsa caldera (or some canned tomatoes)
  • Ground red pepper, salt, and lemon pepper to taste

Steps

  1. Cook the garlic, onion, and potatoes in a pan with olive oil. Stir around for a bit then cover and let cook on medium heat.
  2. Boil the sausages in a pot for 15 or so minutes until cooked through.
  3. Meanwhile, add the kale to the pan a handful at a time, letting it shrink before adding more.
  4. After adding all the kale, add the salsa or tomatoes and season to taste. If you're using a tomato sauce variety, it's important to add the sauce before seasoning because the sauce itself may already be salty or seasoned.
  5. Take the sausages out of the pot when done and cut into coin-shaped pieces. Add to the pan.
  6. Stir a bit and cover. Let simmer a few minutes.
  7. Enjoy!

--

--