Day 19: Spicy Chicken Rice and Pizza

yw
Quarantine Cooking
Published in
2 min readApr 8, 2020

Remember that lettuce I used for Thai chicken lettuce wrap? Well, there was some of that left in the fridge and it was getting real sad. I used most of the rest of it to make this rice bowl with lettuce, spicy chicken, and cheese. Another balanced meal with a vegetable, protein, and carb! This was the last of my shredded cheese, but I have a block of parmesan that I bought a few days ago that I've been grating and putting on stuff. I added a little frozen sweet corn to the chicken just for a little razzle dazzle. This isn't really a proper recipe so much as just me making do with what's in the fridge, but I'll add a recipe anyway. This recipe is per person.

Ingredients

  • 1 boneless skinless chicken thigh, cubed into bite-sized pieces
  • About 6 pieces of lettuce, washed and shredded
  • 1 tablespoon chili fried in oil (or crushed hot pepper flakes)
  • 1/4 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 3–4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup sweet corn
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/3 cup white rice

Steps

  1. Cook the rice.
  2. Heat your pan and add canola oil. When the oil is heated, add the garlic and onion.
  3. Add the chicken, chili, and corn to the pan. Sauté until chicken is cooked and firm.
  4. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. When the rice is done, assemble the bowl with lettuce, chicken, and cheese. Enjoy!

Continuing our efforts to support local businesses, we got pizza from Koronet for dinner. That sounds weird and gross that we got Koronet's pizza for a sober meal, but the quarantined body wants what it wants. It's still open for takeout and delivery!

I realize it's impossible to tell from the picture how big these slices are. The box that it comes in is big enough for a standard (16"?) pie. No regrets. I got the pepperoni/meat, Vamsi got the cheese. We ate them with Truff hot sauce.

--

--