Lessons Learned from my QuarkWorks Internship

Rebecca Parker
QuarkWorks, Inc.
Published in
3 min readMay 21, 2020
Design by Cassie Ferrick

Introduction

For the past 16 weeks, I have had the opportunity to work as a software engineering intern at QuarkWorks. In this very short time, I have gotten to work with some amazing people and have grown so much as a software developer and as a person.

So, as my internship comes to a close, I would like to share a few lessons I’ve learned from my time at QuarkWorks.

1. The Value of a Flexible Mindset

About halfway through my internship, our state issued a stay-at-home order to slow the spread of COVID-19. Thankfully, I was able to transition to working remotely, but changes and uncertainty are always guaranteed in any job or circumstance. Goals and priorities are constantly changing, and the key to avoiding anxiety and frustration is to keep a flexible mindset. Learn not to be discouraged and to go with the flow in situations that are outside of your control.

2. Promises, Promises, Promises!

Every new work experience comes with its own technical challenges, and this internship was no exception. Before this internship, I had never programmed in JavaScript or done any cloud/server-side development work. Now, I can confidently discuss async/await vs. promise syntax and microservice architecture and am excited to bring these new skills into my future work.

3. Break Away from Imposter Syndrome

When I began my internship, I was very nervous to work on a project that I had little direct experience. However, I learned that hard work and asking questions both go a long way in securing your success. It may seem like everyone else knows so much more than you, but don’t be discouraged! Research and learn as much as you can, don’t be intimidated by words you don’t understand, and above all, ask questions! Everyone has to start as a beginner.

4. Connect Your Passions and Your Work

One of my managers told me early on in my internship that connecting your passions to your daily work is the key to a fulfilling job. I’ve learned that the things I work on every day in the office are not just tasks to complete by the end of the day, but tools and training to fuel my passions in and outside the workplace.

5. The Power of Positive Relationships

The most important takeaway I have from my entire internship experience is that great people can turn hindrance into happiness. Because of my amazing coworkers, making a sudden switch to remote work, though still jarring, did not harm my internship experience. Through daily inspirational quotes, sharing weekend plans, and encouraging my burgeoning skateboard obsession, I felt supported and connected to my team even though I could no longer see them in person daily.

I’ve learned so much from the past 16 weeks that did not make this list, but needless to say, my internship at QuarkWorks has been an unforgettable opportunity. I am so grateful to have been a part of the team for the past few months!

As ever, QuarkWorks is available to help with any software application project — web, mobile, and more! If you are interested in our services you can check out our website. We would love to answer any questions you have! Just reach out to us on our Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, or Instagram.

--

--