QuarkWorks: Meet The Team Series — Chance Embrey-Farquhar

Cassie Ferrick
QuarkWorks, Inc.
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2020

Get to know one of our awesome e-commerce software developers who came to us from the Lambda School and his adorable pup Clyde!

Name:

Chance Embrey-Farquhar

Role:

Software Engineer

When did you join QuarkWorks and what led you to take on this position?

I joined QuarkWorks in October of last year. I’ve always been interested in programming, and being a professional software developer has been my dream since high school. I was just finished with Lambda School, an online web dev boot camp when I started talking to a fellow alumni, Shawn Stewart. Shawn had been working at QuarkWorks for a while and suggested I apply for a position. After a couple of rounds of interviewing, I was impressed with the passion that QuarkWorks had for software development, and it seemed like the perfect place for an aspiring professional.

What excites and energizes you about the company?

Everyone at Quark is really passionate about engineering and problem solving. We’re basically a bunch of tech nerds who place a strong emphasis on the quality of our work, and that motivates me to be my best self and continuously grow my skill-set.

What has been your favorite project to work on or are currently working on?

I have been working on TryNow my entire time at QuarkWorks. This project has given me a ton of insight into the e-commerce world and creating applications that scale as the company grows.

Advice you would give someone working at a startup?

Be prepared to wear many hats. Particularly at a startup, you have to make decisions constantly about what to prioritize. Sometimes things can become a bit excited, and learning to embrace the turbulence is very valuable.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?

During the COVID-19 shutdowns, we’ve all, of course, been spending a lot more time inside. I usually have one or more hobby projects that I’m working on, and I really like exploring various educational content on the internet and enjoying it with my wife (and our dog, Clyde. He rarely leaves our side, and seems to be surprisingly interested in watching YouTube videos on the TV with us). Before the lockdowns, we were having a great time exploring the many local businesses and restaurants that downtown Columbia has to offer. We moved here from Kansas City when I started working at QuarkWorks, and there’s never been a shortage of new places to discover.

What is your most used emoji?

It’s a toss-up between :sweat-smile: (😅) and :grimacing: (😬). As a person who regularly deals with anxiety, these two emojis express my feelings often. 😂

As ever, QuarkWorks is available to help with any software application project — web, mobile, and more! If you are interested in our services you can check out our website. We would love to answer any questions you have! Just reach out to us on our Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, or Instagram.

--

--