You Asked! Dr. Bennet Answered!

Interview with Dr. Edward Bennet, cardiothoracic surgeon

Jay Seth
Quark Magazine
5 min readNov 1, 2017

--

Dr. Edward Bennett (M.D.): Cardiothoracic Surgeon at Albany Medical Centre

Dr. Edward Bennett is a Cardiothoracic surgeon, a medical physician that specializes in thoracic and open heart surgery. He received his Medical Degree (MD) from Ohio State University and has been practising for over 20 years.

In our second installment of the Quark Interview Series, we are honoured to invite Dr. Bennett to learn more about the medical field and steps prospective medical students should take to gain admission into medical school and residencies.

Tell me about your education. What undergraduate, graduate, and residencies did you pursue?

Ohio State University Medical Center

Medicine is long journey that requires dedication, hard work, and will. But saying that, one of the positives of medical school is that students have the choice to pursue any undergraduate degree that they desire. As for myself, I wanted to be an engineer throughout secondary school, so I took mechanical and aerospace engineering at Ohio state university. I enjoyed math, physics, and chemistry, so I never regretted my choice. That being said, in my undergraduate years, I gained a passion for helping others. A passion that I felt that engineering did not satisfy. This pushed me to consider medicine in my graduate studies, so I ended up at Ohio State University’s college of medicine. Ohio State University’s medical program is typical: the first two years were a mixture of classroom and lab time, while the third and fourth years were clinical. Near the end of my fourth year, I was very fascinated with surgery and the brain. Naturally, I pursued a career in neurosurgery and enrolled in the a general surgery residency program at St. Peter’s hospital. Here, I shadowed and worked alongside general surgeons and acquired basic surgical skills. The general surgery program lasted for five years. Because I was exposed to many different disciplines of surgery in this residency program, my interests eventually peaked on open heart and thoracic surgery. This is why, instead of pursuing neurosurgery like I originally intended, I decided to further my education in a cardiothoracic surgery residency. My integrated residency program lasted six years, and, similarly to my general surgery residency, I shadowed cardiothoracic surgeons and gained skills specially relevant to cardiothoracic surgery.

What do you love most about your profession as a cardiothoracic surgeon?

Surgeons operating on patient. Patients trust doctors with their lives during invasive operations.

There are many reasons why I love my job. First of all, it is an honour to be trusted with another human being’s health and well-being. Patients trust their physicians with their most personal and intimate manners. Patients trust their physicians to see them in their most feeble state. My job gives me a unique window in the human experience, since I can hear people’s stories and help them at their most vulnerable states.

Additionally, Medicine is a profession that allows me to continue to learn and grow. Understanding the human body and human disease is a complex and daunting undertaking. There is constantly new information, data, protocols, and standards of care. Staying current is an important and intellectually stimulating aspect of being a doctor.

Another reason I love my profession is the teaching aspect that it embodies. At Albany Medical Centre, I spend a significant amount of my time training medical residents and students. They have many interesting questions and have learned things in class that are a starting point for more learning and discussion in clinic for us all.

Lastly I feel like I am making a positive contribution to my community and society. By training future doctors and providing good medical care to my patients, I feel like I have the opportunity to have an impact on others. For me this is a key aspect of happiness and fulfillment in life.

What are some tips you would recommend to students who are interested in pursuing medicine?

“Word Hard”

Medical school is competitive, so you will need stellar grades and MCAT scores. You will need to take a variety of science courses in your undergraduate degree. These courses are difficult, so it is imperative that you study hard for these courses. Most medical schools also have required courses in other subject disciplines like the humanities and mathematics. Although your science GPA is weighted more heavily, your overall GPA is one of the most important determining factors for admission into medical school, so work hard.

“Have a Passion for Medicine”

Make sure you have a strong passion for medicine. If you do not have a passion to study medicine then you will find the long and extraneous education process very lethargic and strenuous. Furthermore, you will find your career unfulfilling and monotonous. Ultimately, it is your drive and passion for medicine that will drive you through medical school and subsequent residencies.

“Immerse Yourself in the Medical Field”

Immerse yourself in the medical field. Volunteer in a hospital. Partake in medical research with a reputable professor. Shadow your local family physician. All these activities will serve to develop your passion in medicine and will help you decide whether medicine is the right career for you. These activities are also highly regarded by medical school admission committees.

What is your lifestyle as a medical doctor like?

The lifestyles of medical doctors vary significantly based on the specialization and seniority. I can only provide insight to my lifestyle as a cardiothoracic surgeon.

Socioeconomically, I am well off. I can pay the bills. I have food on the table. My children can partake in various recreational activities. However, I feel that medicine takes a toll on my social life. As a surgeon, I often have to work long hours — often 19–21 hours at a time. This means that my career competes with the time I spend with my wife and children. In addition, I am obligated to work on call even during holidays, so it is not surprising if I have to go to the hospital during Christmas in the case of an emergency. So, on the whole, while my career pays well, I have to work long hours to earn that income.

--

--