Blossom

Devi O’Carroll
Queen’s Children
Published in
1 min readAug 19, 2020

The sensuality of waning summer

Image by: Pezibear on Pixabay

Sweet demoness

I sensed the slaughter

Coming on like the musk of an August moon

Pleading clover

Stalks of blood perfume

My

Honed desire designed to consume

Tentative yet true in yearning

Held

Bright swelling in the summer breeze

And cinders clinging to my skirts

Your

Seeds knew not the turn of morn

Were jilted in the wombs of their catkins

The fields laid down to murmurs of harts

As

The blossoming flower devoured

’Twas my egg that captured and endured

The bloom of the turning season

’Twas my egg that sought and ensnared

Fecund and longing

To in-furl you

Encase you

Drain you

And dissolve you

--

--

Devi O’Carroll
Queen’s Children

Poetess and writer focused on healing, passion, nature, inspiration, and mythology.