Brandy, You’re a Fine Girl. What a Good Wife You Would Be…

Releasing the strange chains of the wife archetype

Katrina Bos
Queen’s Children

--

Photo by Elina Sazonova from Pexels

The sailors say “Brandy, you’re a fine girl” (you’re a fine girl)
“What a good wife you would be” (such a fine girl)

Lyrics to “Brandy” by Looking Glass

Oh how I wanted to be a good wife. I guess I wanted to be a good everything — daughter, mom, friend, everything… But when I got married at 23-years-old, “being a good wife” was definitely the first thing I wanted to be amazing at.

The strange thing was that before that, I was a very independent woman. I was a computer programmer. I had a math degree. A life of domestic servitude was not something I had planned for or desired.

Until that ring went on my finger… and making him happy and comfortable was all that mattered.

It was really like a spell came over me.

If you asked my in-laws, they would not agree with anything in this article. To their deeply Christian, farm community roots, I was a bra-burning feminist. I had opinions. I had thoughts. I didn’t agree with them. My city ways did not fit well with the farm-life I had signed up for having fallen in love with a farmer.

Even I thought I was holding my own. I thought that I had retained my identity and…

--

--

Katrina Bos
Queen’s Children

Tantra teacher・Mathematician・Free-spirit・Mystic Heart・Author・Exploring this amazing world. For more details: katrinabos.ca