Check In With Yourself

Nombuso Makhubu
Queen’s Children
Published in
3 min readMar 13, 2021

--

“Self respect, self worth, self love all start with self. Stop looking outside of yourself for your value.” Rob Lian.

Be still & know. However, you do your meeting(s), kindly allow vulnerability to lead the conversation as you check in with your dear self. Our inner-beings are our constant. At times, over-verbalizing self-interactions is a bonus. After all, you would be opening up to your witness. Love and light always.

“Be still & Know…” Illustration by Rock Staar https://unsplash.com/photos/w3SKfOLpVwA

Indeed, if there is a good time to talk to you about yourself, today is. After all, we are all by ourselves.

This fact is not to say before Covid-19 doing a self-check-in was taboo, not at all.

…………………………………

Sweetheart, how are you?

“My love, I am exhausted. The past 364 days were a turmoil of events, emotions, interactions, and everything in-between.”

“Where would I even begin? Better, I leave it at that I am fatigued.”

………………………………..

A constant shoulder to lean on

“Sugar, look at me, it’s ok, feel free to speak your heart out to me. I love you and am interested in finding out how you are.”

…………………………………

--

--

Nombuso Makhubu
Queen’s Children

I am of southern African descent living in Ottawa, Canada. My academic qualifications are law, human rights and social justice, global action and engagement.