The leverage: prompt

Echo Chamber

Echoes coming from everywhere

White Feather
Queen’s Children
Published in
7 min readAug 21, 2020

--

Tell us something you did or refused to do, that surprised you by its echo. I name this a leverage on the collective reality, with a lever, you can move big and heavy objects like cars.” — Jean Carfantan

I will tell one story about what I did and one story about what I refused to do, both of which produced very strong echoes; echoes that were very, very different from each other. But first a quick story about the mechanics of leverage…

Back in the late 1980s and early 1990s when I worked as a stone artist I was hired by a wealthy woman for an entire summer to create stone art on her incredible four acres atop a cliff in the sacred Jemez Mountains of northern New Mexico.

At one point during that summer she asked me to take a day or so away from my art to do her a favor. Behind her ranch home was a little yard area surrounded by an adobe wall (to keep the snakes out). There were flowers and grass and barbecue grills and picnic tables for entertaining.

There were also two giant boulders sticking up out of the ground. In the Jemez Mountains there are boulders EVERYWHERE. One of the boulders was quite beautiful but the other one not so much. Plus the other one had some “ugly” calcium deposits on it. She asked me if…

--

--