I Am Me. And That’s Enough.

Attachment Prompt

Gurpreet Dhariwal
Queen’s Children
Published in
3 min readOct 8, 2020

--

https://pixabay.com/users/miktima-4678112/

I am a highly sensitive person. And for once I take pride in saying that.

All my life I was made to believe that if you cry you are a weak person. I will say it loud and clear that it is not. Cry as much as you want to cry. Let your tears flow like a beautiful river. Get your eyes to be riddled with red patches. Sometimes swollen eyes look better than cunning eyes.

Attachment comes naturally to me else I wouldn’t have been a poet. I don’t think so I can ever go on without feeling attached to others. Detachment is something I would take years to learn on but wait? I ain’t in no hurry. I can give it all my life to make peace with my soul. It will come to me when I will be ready to accept all the choices the universe will throw at me.

Losing my pet in 1996 made me aware of my emotions. I was 10 years old. I cried like hell and my tears didn’t stop for a month. My parents saw me and my siblings falling to the dark zone of depression. Yes, kids can feel depressed too. Emotions are for real. The irony was my parents were not doing well either emotionally. Our pet was our family member. We all died along with him.

Life kept going on and I got myself attached to insane and rude lovers at different stages of life. How vulnerable they made me believe I got to realize when I…

--

--

Gurpreet Dhariwal
Queen’s Children

Author of Four books. Domestic Violence Survivor, Domestic Violence Advocate @BTSADV, Sketcher, Dog Lover, Poet. www.gurpreetdhariwal.com/