I Am Not Ashamed of Being Me

I am not gullible but I can be easily fooled. And I tell you why? I trust others with an open heart and soul.

Gurpreet Dhariwal
Queen’s Children
Published in
2 min readAug 18, 2020

--

Photograph by Maddi Bazzocco@maddibazzocco

I would like to share a small story with you all.

It comes from my life experiences but life didn’t prepare me well for it and prejudice took a stand for the first time.

I am not gullible but I can be easily fooled. And I tell you why? I trust others with an open heart and soul. Whatever they share with me as a friend or a stranger I trust their words. And more often than other things it puts me in the trouble.

The last time when I felt this way when my best friend lied to me consistently and torn my faith apart. What I was noticing in his patterns was he was cooking up stories maybe all this while to win my trust. He certainly did. But life ditched me in a way because I wasn’t paying attention to his lies.

I realized later on after communicating with people close in his circle that what he was telling me about others was what he was doing to others. So he tried to be a hero but in reality, he was worse than a villain.

I am not even sure why would people do this kind of bullshit? Is he a narcissist? I certainly believe he is. The way he ruined my years of trust in him made me think not…

--

--

Gurpreet Dhariwal
Queen’s Children

Author of Four books. Domestic Violence Survivor, Domestic Violence Advocate @BTSADV, Sketcher, Dog Lover, Poet. www.gurpreetdhariwal.com/