I Looked into Myself

A Free Verse

Gita Das
Queen’s Children

--

Photo by Cristina Gottardi on Unsplash

I heard a faint voice and chased it,
little did I know, it was leading me to myself.
I peeped in.
I saw a mirror with many cracks.
On each line was a name, the names of all whom I had loved once.
For a long time, I looked at myself, forlorn and sad.
Then I heard the voice again,
Faintly it whispered, “Go mend the cracks”.
First, I unloaded my anger and ego;
It took time and effort and hurt.
Next, I ate some sugar and honey;
before I took the plunge.
I patched up with drifted ones, apologised and kissed others.
The voice got fainter, still I could hear.
By chance, I came across the mirror again.
Lo, behold! The cracks had gone!
This time again, I looked at myself.
The lines were on my face.
Each crease told what I have learned until now.

--

--

Gita Das
Queen’s Children

When words jump around, I give them steps to dance to the tunes of life, people and emotions. For any freelance copy, write me at geetadas1005@gmail.com