Intimacy prompt

Intimacy, Boundaries, and the Self

Elle Beau ❇︎
Queen’s Children

--

I found all three in a new way when I risked everything and created Home

Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

I was talking to a friend the other day and the subject of finding and creating Home came up. I have a house that I love, I have a life that I’ve long shared with a husband and a son, but the search for Home is greater than just the traditional Norman Rockwell manifestations of that word. What is Home to me has also shifted in the past several years to mean new things and to include other people. How I relate to myself and the Home within has shifted as well.

Some of that comes from going more deeply into what I truly want and need, and some of it is related to standing firm in boundaries — even some that conventional society says I have no right to maintain. Maintaining them anyway is a part of how I create an authentic life and true sense of intimacy with myself and others.

A few years back I went through a crucible, a trial by fire wherein I had to learn to trust myself and no-one else. I had to listen to my own inner voice and my own soul in the face of zero support for that. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, and also ultimately one of the most beneficial because I learned to trust myself on an entirely different level. I also created a new level of intimacy with my deepest self.

--

--

Elle Beau ❇︎
Queen’s Children

Social scientist dispelling cultural myths with research-driven stories. "Thinking is difficult, that’s why most people judge." ~ Carl Jung