My Tools: Prompt

Layer After Layer

Peeling off

Diana C.
Queen’s Children
Published in
2 min readFeb 2, 2021

--

Image by Evie Shaffer from Pexels

I’ve been peeling off and shedding that scabrous skin
Ever since I turned eighteen
Back then my cells were filled with anger and resentment
Whereas now they bathe
In soft acceptance;

I was scared, insecure and lost
That I would have to pay the cost
For leading an unconventional existence
And that I wouldn’t cope
With society’s resistance…

That everyone would turn their back on me
For they would be too visionless to see
And that I would end up upsetting
Everyone who had other plans for me
And didn’t want me to be free.

Peeling off layer after layer of self that no longer serves me is a process I wholeheartedly embrace. I’ve done it first when I was eighteen by saying “hell NO” to living my life by the books and completely reinvented myself. I’ve done it again at 20 when I got a job that had a lot of stigma surrounding it. I am doing it again now, with every choice I make that is filled with uncertainty, as my refusal to conform grows stronger.

--

--

Diana C.
Queen’s Children

Editor at KTHT & Hobbies & Stories. Penning, polishing, and provoking thoughts. My online presence is vast, explore it here: https://linktr.ee/ktht