Make us touch how you feel out of step with today: prompt

Looking Back

Ann Litts
Queen’s Children

--

A view from the future

Photo by Hannah Tims on Unsplash

Time is a Human construct. We make order out of chaos because we insist on counting time. We break it down from millennia to minute seconds. Tick-tocking our precious Nows into oblivion.

Currently, Our Now is a chaos-filled dystopian nightmare. Or is it?

For me, on a personal level, The Universe listened to the whispers of my heart when I longed to work from home. When I wondered if I could manage to live on my pension. When I hoped my car would last a few more years.

And. Just. Like. That.

I’m working from home.

My expenses got slashed and I’m living well within my anticipated pension.

I have driven my car less than 200 miles in the last three months.

How many of us have longed for a different Life? A new world order? Universal healthcare? A cleaner environment? Better options in our education systems? More distant learning with lower college tuition bills? An end to racial profiling and injustice?

The birth of all we dreamed of is not without the pains of labor. Birth never is. Re-birth is an even more brutal process as Kali sets fire to all that was to re-grow what is meant…

--

--