OffSpring

A poem in honour of mothers

Denise G
Queen’s Children
2 min readMay 9, 2021

--

Photo of myself pregnant with my son who is now 20.

Our bodies carry you,
vessels of your very existence.
Women bore from women
and men from them.

Our hearts carry the nurturing love
given with tender words spoken in
guiding counsel.
Daily lives filled
with guilt and doubt
if we are doing it at all right,
or if we could’ve done better.

Our hearts heavy
when we feel your sorrow
but could also burst from pride
to see the person you have become.

We sacrifice
for your well-being
at our own choice,
not a burden for you to carry
but ours to bear.
Secrets kept
so you are spared.

We are the deepest of wells
filled with wisdom
and we welcome you to drink.
We comfort you in our bosom
even when you think
you are too old to be held.

We are the daughters of mothers
and the mothers
to daughters and sons.

I wrote this in honour of my mother who has now passed. I feel she still carries me, as I carry her in me, for my daughter and son.

my mother and I

--

--