Show and Tell

Riding the silence

Jenine Bsharah Baines
Queen’s Children

--

“Bud,” my guardian angel after a hard day. Photo copyright of Jenine Bsharah Baines

Turning right, radio off –
thoughts are noise enough,
driving me
to accomplish this,
ponder that.

Sometimes haikus come
Words like oncoming traffic
Collisions welcome

At stop lights and signs, I signal.
Mindfulness — instructed to intersect
now, please –
is playing peek a boo

when a loud rush of wings
slashes
the canopy of silence
like the time at Paradise Cove
as a gull swept past,
nabbing a French fry from my fingers.

Gospel truth. No poetic license

although willingly I cede
right of way to your skepticism.
I too peer through the rear-view mirror,
seeing

not once
but twice
rides on a hubcap and three wheels,
the fourth summersaulting in my wake
recalling

--

--

Jenine Bsharah Baines
Queen’s Children

J…Jen…Jeni…Jenine... Proper names are poetry in the raw. (W.H. Auden) Poet, singer, seeker, hippie grandmother gleefully revealing herself