Simple Beauty

Nalini MacNab
Queen’s Children
Published in
3 min readJan 17, 2022

--

Photo by Juja Han on Unsplash

Requires no collateral disturbance.

Lilac sunrise followed a golden-silver moon-set, reminding me of delicate palettes of rose-gold-lilac remembered from the French countryside. There, this palette presents itself in sunsets, watered down versions of the brilliant oranges and yellows of too much pollution in a miraculous atmosphere. Here, this color is a rarity in the sky, typically found in clusters of summer violets beneath sheltering trees, or in the borders of the columbine.

Too quick for me to dress and run outdoors to claim an open view, this quiet grace took my breath away. Delicate tones quickly shifted, replaced by the gleam of sunlight falling on ice crystals.

A cold morning. Odd, just now. Not for the time of year, but for its juxtaposition with warm afternoons, forcing one to alternate between sets of seasonal footwear and to dress in peculiar layers. My body remembers autumns such as this. Grateful for morning’s outer layer that would be later shed for my walk home. This morning, I was tempted to throw on snow layers over pajamas, as I was wont to do when nature’s vistas met me outside my door. This is not that mountain home, though I am grateful to inhabit its generous benevolence, here and now.

Here, I peer through a seemingly infinite sea of structures, smiling with the trees, soaring aloft with the…

--

--

Nalini MacNab
Queen’s Children

I live, learn, write, create and share the experience of embodying HER Infinite Love. https://www.nalinimacnab.com