Why Was I So Full of Fear?!

. . . A short personal story

Beth Stormont
Queen’s Children

--

Image from aleteia.org: The Evangelizing Power of the Pipe Organ

I was performing my music as I had done
all my life since age fifteen. . . as my profession!

Why was I suddenly so full of fear?!

I had seldom known fear in this way
— yet it was happening uncontrollably.

I somehow managed to get through the performance
. . . more as an ordeal than as the usual enjoyment.

After the fact, I learned through my clairvoyant
hindsight what was the reality of that occurrence.

It had not actually been my own fear!

In reality, it was the fear of all the others in that
fear-filled room that had attached to me
. . . making it as if the fear were my own!

I could not believe it!. . . but yet in my heart
I knew that it had to be true, for the whole
experience had felt so very surreal.

I have come to realize that with deep empathic
sensitivity, this is something that can happen
quite readily and without warning.

Therefore, I have decided to…

--

--

Beth Stormont
Queen’s Children

Philosophic observer and poet of life experiences; mystic; college professor and professional Classical musician; lover of deep simplicity.