You Don’t Have to Tell Everybody Everything

Key moment: prompt

--

Seed will sprout in the scar. Though death is in the healing, it will heal.
Wendell Berry

She called me “Sista”.
Only I, she said, was kind to her.
Only I saw her as more than a pitiable joke —
a fifth wife
who’d last no longer than the others.

I shared a secret with my sista,
seeking absolution
for what I assured myself
was justifiable if not warranted,
weak, but who wouldn’t be?
Which is perhaps why my betrayal
seeded hers.

Now, a stranger,
no longer in the family while she is,
I thank Nemesis for her malevolent wisdom.
You don’t have to tell everyone
everything –

this is not being authentic.
It’s a succumbing
to possession
by neediness.
Trust must be cultivated, not scattered
like wildflower seeds over the ocean
in the hope the waves will sprout.

--

--

Jenine "Jeni" Baines
Queen’s Children

Little old lady from Pasadena. Granny going, going, going...fueled by the Light within Beauty. Head over heels in love with words. and words.