Force.

Jen Leggio
queenofcups
Published in
Aug 4, 2024
Walnut Beach, Milford, CT

The ocean is the most powerful force
more than love, more than death
though often in the presence of both
she is a harbinger of beauty and pain
she can rip families apart with her ferocity
she can calmly soothe chaos to sleep
the ultimate power
the ultimate dichotomy
I sit in her presence in reverence
I sit in her presence in gratitude
despite her oft vitriol, she has only ever chosen beauty for me.

The ocean is the most powerful force
more than my love, more than my pain
I sit and wonder what her tide will pull for me next
and, despite her bringing it, her wave might crash it anyway.

A fickle monster
a glorious beauty
to dismiss her is to dismiss life
to dismiss her is to dismiss death.

The ocean is the most powerful force.

(Written on location on Sunday, July 28, 2024)

--

--

Jen Leggio
queenofcups

I write. I bleed. I feel. I share. I heal. A very personal collection of tales, some creative, some memoir, some contoured. All based on some truth. Enjoy.