Goodbye To My Wife

A Queerly Trans “Logan’s Corner” writing prompt reply

Jenny Starr✨
Queerly Trans

--

Image by Author of a Poem by the Author, circa 2000

This article is in response to Logan Silkwood’s writing prompt related to coming out letters. I chose to write a letter to my wife, to explain a bit more about who I am and why I am choosing this path of transition…

Poetry

I recently started writing poetry and it's been a cathartic experience. It seems my heart loves the language of words, how they interplay, weave a story, and invite people to become part of the journey. Poetry has turned out to be one of my love languages, although I couldn’t understand it when I was in school. It was a bunch of words in some special format with a bunch of incomplete sentences — a lazy writer’s paragraphs. Oh, if I only knew what Love had in store!!!

After I got married, to the girl I thought I would spend the rest of my life with, I wrote her a poem (the one pictured above). The words went like this:

--

--

Jenny Starr✨
Queerly Trans

A transgender woman (she/they) learning her way in this beautiful life…queer, curious, thoughtful. I write poetry, LGBTQ and whatever else stirs my spirit...