Using the Hired platform to land a job. Part 1: Accepted

Patrick Porche
Queers In Tech
Published in
3 min readJan 7, 2018

I woke up this morning to the BEST news! My Hired profile has been approved! If you don’t know what Hired is, it’s a platform that matches employer’s with candidates that meet their skills and technology requirements. Employer’s reach out to candidates (not the other way around) with an interview request including a base salary and job description. Then candidates have to power to accept or decline interview requests on the platform. The whole process lasts 2–6 weeks depending on company demand. AND, if I land a job through the platform, I’ll receive a $300 signing bonus!

So why am I so excited!? I initially signed up for an account on Hired about a year and a half ago. I bootstrapped my projects (quite literally, I think bootstrap was in every single project), added some work experience, and expected to be flooded with interview requests. Only to get a rejection email within a day or so.

Months went by and around last summer (2k17) I reapplied. I had been at the Learners Guild for about 4 months, had learned a ton, and felt like I was ready. But low and behold… rejection email #2 landed in my inbox within another 24hours. I knew people were being accepted so I was devastated and just gave up.

Fast forward to January 2k18… I received some sounds advice from our career outreach coordinator Kamrin Klauschie and promptly put a hard end date on the endless edits and todos on my portfolio. I made the changes on my profile and voila!

There is a queer Jesus up there! Ultimately I know now (especially in the industry) to never put all your eggs in one basket, but for now I’m happy for this little win. And since I “go live” on Monday. I’d be happy to share a bit more about my experience on the platform.

Hired says the only accept 5% of people on their platform.

But there were some changes that I made that made me fairly confident that this was my time to be accepted. If you want to try out Hired please use my link! I’ll get a little kickback if you get a job, AND I’d be happy to take a look at your profile and give you tips on getting accepted to the platform.

Please check out this series. I’ll be posting more about my experience as it moves forward.

Happy tech-ing queers!

--

--

Patrick Porche
Queers In Tech

Software Engineer. Holistic Life Coach. Exercise Physiologist