Using the Hired platform to land a job. Part 2: In it!

Patrick Porche
Queers In Tech
Published in
2 min readJan 17, 2018

Well it’s been a little over a week since I went “live” on the Hired platform and I can only say that I definitely feel like I’m “IN IT.” Since starting on the platform I’ve received 7 interview requests! One company threw me straight into a technical challenge. I had to build a tic tac toe game, logic and UI. I unfortunately only made it through the logic section and was sent a rejection email later that evening.

Surprisingly, I haven’t really been discouraged though. There is definitely something to say about keeping the volume of interviews up, for that Hired has been wonderful. I know that I will inevitably get rejections, but the whole thing seems a lot easier since I still have so many interviews coming up. On top of that, the iterations have been so rapid that I actually feel like every interview gets exponentially better.

At this point I’m still in the early stages of my process. I’ve mostly been getting through phone screens and completing coding challenges. I’ll keep you updated about what happens in the later stages… but for now, I’m pleasantly surprised. I’m hoping a few more invitation requests come through this week. I was happy to get one today! But apparently traffic generally slows down in your second week live on the platform. We will see how this proceeds.

--

--

Patrick Porche
Queers In Tech

Software Engineer. Holistic Life Coach. Exercise Physiologist