My Work Friend

Ying to my Yang

Written by Melissa
QuibbleQuill
Published in
3 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

Photo by Kelsey Chance on Unsplash

I made a friend at work. She’s much much younger than me, but we get along. We eat lunch together and talk about getting together for a double date with our spouses. We keep each other motivated throughout the day to meet our daily goals and even text after hours.

She makes me laugh and it was an amazing feeling when she first called me her friend. I don't have any of those and even though I try to avoid getting close to anyone, especially at work, I quickly began to trust her. Even though I'm 42 and she's 26, we found common ground in our motivation to exceed our personal goals at work.

Sure, I’m more of a stickler for being on time and she’s late every day. That has nothing to do with me. Of course, I thought it was weird that when I talked about having an extra long hot shower this morning she replied that she never heard of anyone taking a shower in the morning, I thought it was weird. That’s her life. Yes, it bugs me that she never brings her lunch, but has funds for cigarettes, and she expects me to bring extra for her and she even gets offended when I don’t have an extra drink for her.

I know how to say no so it's no big deal.

--

--