3 Ways to Avoid Getting on Anybody’s Wrong Side at Your Corporate Job

RJ Reyes
Quick 1
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2023

--

Photo by Chang Duong on Unsplash

A corporate job feels more enjoyable when you can work with everyone.

Working in the manufacturing industry for 15+ years, I learned a thing or two that helps me get the crosshairs off my back. Here are some of the ways that help me avoid getting on anybody’s wrong side (including my boss):

Forget about your ego

There’s almost always those experts who knows their stuff and are very valuable to the company, however, they can be tough to work with. Find ways to boost their ego (through genuine compliments) instead of getting into an ego-competition with them.

Acknowledge other’s expertise

Everyone matters regardless of their skill level or however long they’ve been with the company. One way to do that is by acknowledging those little accomplishments someone made.

Sometimes, you don’t even need to identify what those are because they’ll tell you. You’ll know when someone’s proud of the decisions they made when working on a project or an issue.

“What else am I missing here?”

There were times when I thought I had everything figured out, only to realize in the last minute that I missed a critical information.

This mistake is more common for the experts.

The more expert you are at what you do, the more likely you’re going to make a mistake because you don’t have other experts to chime in to review your work.

--

--

RJ Reyes
Quick 1

I ghostwrite mini-books for leaders in the manufacturing industry to amplify their credibility